BPG is committed to discovery and dissemination of knowledge
Editorial Board
Dr. S.J.S. Flora, Director, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, Raebareli (U.P.), India did his Ph.D. from Industrial Toxicology Research Centre (now CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, Lucknow, India) and worked as a Post- doctoral Research Associate at Utah State University, USA (1984-86). He served for nearly 27 years at Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) at Gwalior, India before taking up the present position. Major research interest of his group relates clinical therapeutic measures for the treatment of arsenic poisoning. His most highlighted contribution includes development of a new drug for treating cases of arsenic poisoning. The drug (Investigational New Drug) was approved by Drug Controller General of India (DCGI) for human trials and is currently in Phase II/ III trial. He has over 350 research papers in highly rated peer reviewed journals, including more than 80 Review article/chapters in and over 10,000 citations in the international literature. He has 15 patents filed (3 approved) to his credit. He is Associate Editor/ member editorial board of over 39 international toxicology and pharmacology journals. He has edited 5 books and the latest Handbook of Arsenic Toxicology (Elsevier/ Academic Press, USA) was published in January 2015. He was awarded prestigious DRDO Scientist of the Year Award in 2015 for his contribution in developing a drug for Arsenic poisoning, He also was conferred with prestigious Dr Kailash Nath Katju award of Madhya Pradesh Government, Shakuntala Amir Chand award of Indian Council of Medical Research, Life Time Achievement Award of Society of Toxicology (SOT) and Academy of Biotechnology and Pharmacy. He was conferred with prestigious Prof. R. Nath Oration (PGIMER Chandigarh), Prof. Govinda Achari, Prof. S.B. Pandey and Prof. R.C. Dalela ORATIONS.He was also awarded “Best Technology Award” of DRDO in the year 2009 for developing a new drug for arsenic toxicity. He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), Association of Biotechnologists and Pharmacy (FABP), Academy of Environment Biology (FAEB) and Society of Science and Environment (FSSE). He has so far supervised 25 students for their Ph.D. degree in Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Biotechnology etc.