Brief Article
Copyright ©2010 Baishideng.
World J Gastrointest Endosc. Jan 16, 2010; 2(1): 36-40
Published online Jan 16, 2010. doi: 10.4253/wjge.v2.i1.36
Table 1 Gastric ulcer stages using a six-stage system[11]
A1 (active stage 1)Ulcer that contains mucus coating, with marginal elevation because of edema
A2 (active stage 2)Mucus-coated ulcer with discrete margin and less edema than active stage 1
H1 (healing stage 1)Unhealed ulcer covered by regenerating epithelium < 50%, with or without converging folds
H2 (healing stage 2)Ulcer with a mucosal break but almost covered with regenerating epithelium
S1 (scar stage 1)Red scar with rough epithelialization without mucosal break
S2 (scar stage 2)White scar with complete re-epithelialization